Some templates may benefit your entire team and should then be shared among all users. Other templates may fit your specific use case or region and should only be used by you. This is why Salesloft allows you to make templates either public or private depending on your preference.
In this article, you will learn how to make a template private. This article includes:
- By default, all templates are available to your entire team. This means that your entire team can access team templates as well as your personal templates.
- Only personal templates can be made private. Team Templates cannot be changed to private once they have been created.
For a quick overview of how to make a template private, check out this video:
To make a template private, follow these steps:
- Navigate to the Templates page: Hover over the Content tab on the top navigation panel, then select Templates.
- Select template(s): Check the box beside the template you want to make private.
- Click “Sharing”: Click the Sharing dropdown, then select Make Private.
- Select “Make Private”: Review the notice, then hit Make Private.
When a template is successfully made private, a lock icon will appear next to the template.

Figure 1: Make a Template private on the Templates page.
Make a Private Template Shareable
By default, templates are accessible to your entire team and shareable. Once you make a template private, it is no longer shareable to your team.
You can reverse this action and make a private template shareable to allow your team to access it again.
To share a private template shareable, follow these steps:
- From the Templates page, check the box beside the template you want to share.
- Click the Sharing dropdown, then select Share.

Figure 2: Make a private Template sharable on the Templates page.