Contact restrictions are put in place to respect the boundaries of people and organizations.
Respecting contact preferences is important for maintaining positive relationships with prospects and customers. Salesloft allows you to add Accounts to the Do Not Contact list, preventing any unwanted communications to individuals associated with that Account.
In this article, you will learn how to add an Account to the Do Not Contact list. This article includes:
When adding an Account to the Do Not Contact list, be aware of the following:
- Linked people will be removed from all of your and your teammates' cadences.
- You will not be stopped from contacting linked people from a third party such as Gmail or Outlook.
- All people added to the account while it is marked Do Not Contact will be removed from cadences.
- If someone is marked as Do Not Contact, the following will apply:
- Email is disabled.
- Calling is disabled.
- The Person cannot be added to any Cadence.
- The Person is removed from all Cadences.
Watch this quick video to lean how to add an account to the Do Not Contact list.
Adding an account to the Do Not Contact list will remove linked people from all existing cadences and will prevent you or members of your team from contacting those people from within cadence.
To mark an Account Do Not Contact, follow these steps:
- Navigate to the Account's Profile Page: Go to the Account’s Profile page. You can access this by selecting an account name or in the top navigation bar hover over Contacts, select Accounts, find the account name in your list view, and select the account.
- Open the Account Information Panel Actions menu: In the first panel that contains the account's name, click the ellipses icon (...) in the upper left corner. This will open a menu.
- Select "Mark Do Not Contact": From the menu, select Mark Do Not Contact. A pop up will appear to confirm the action.
- Confirm: Review the confirmation notice then click Confirm.

Figure 1: Mark Account as Do Not Contact
When an Account is marked as Do Not Contact, you are restricted from contacting any Person linked to that Account. To contact someone linked to an Account that has been marked as Do Not Contact, you will need to remove the Account from the Do Not Contact list before you can correspond with the Person.
Follow these steps to unmark an Account as Do Not Contact:
- Navigate to the Account's Profile Page: Go to the Account’s Profile page. You can access this by selecting an account name or in the top navigation bar hover over Contacts, select Accounts, find the account name in your list view, and select the account.
- Open the Account Information Panel Actions menu: In the first panel that contains the account's name, click the ellipses icon (...) in the upper left corner. This will open a menu.
- Select "Unmark Do Not Contact": From the menu select Unmark Do Not Contact. A pop up will appear to confirm the action.
- Confirm: Review the confirmation notice then click Unmark. You may now contact People associated with the Account.

Figure 2: Remove Account from Do Not Contact list
Accounts marked as Do Not Contact will be marked with the “Do Not” symbol and status. The status can be viewed on the Accounts Page List and on the individual Account Page.
Figure 3: Account Marked as Do Not Contact in Account List
- Admins/Managers: Communicate with your team about any Accounts that have been added to the Do Not Contact list.
- Users: Review your Accounts and add any that should be on the Do Not Contact list.