Sometimes Drift might not be the right product for your company. We totally understand that and we're here to help.
When you chat in to cancel your account, make sure someone on our team responds so that they can alert a member of our Customer Success or Customer Advocate team. That person will help you close out your account.
Someone will always get in touch with you once your request has gone through, so just wait for that followup to know that your request was fully processed.
When you delete your account, you'll want to make note of the following:
- After you delete your account, you will be logged out and your conversations, contacts and reporting data will be archived.
Note for Paid Plans:
If your account is an Premium plan or above, you'll need to chat in to delete your account. If you accidentally created a free Drift org instead of joining an existing one, jump down to the bottom of this article.

Sometimes when you are trying to join an existing Drift org you accidentally make a new free Drift org for yourself. You can easily delete the existing free account so you can be added to the correct org by following these steps:
- Log in to your existing free Drift account and navigate to Settings > My Settings
- Once the account is deleted, have the admin of the Drift org you are trying to join send you a new invite so you can join the paid account.
If you are having trouble deleting your account, please chat in to our Customer Advocate team and they will be able to assist you.
A special note for Legacy customers.
If you're a Legacy customer, we certainly love you; but if you cancel or downgrade your account, and then decide to sign back up for Drift again at a later date, please understand that we won't be able to offer you the same pricing you had on with your original plan. Please check with your Billing admin to determine if you are a Legacy customer or not.
For more information on our cancellation policy, see our Terms of Service.