Within your settings, you can set a limit for the amount of conversations a rep or team member can have at once. This is useful for high-volume inboxes and so that your team doesn't have to handle all inbound conversations at once.
The chat limit number that you set will be the maximum number of open conversations each team member on your account can have. Pending conversations will not count toward this max.
Billing Plan: Conversation limits are available on any paid Drift plan, starting with Premium.
In this doc, we'll cover
- Setting a conversation limit for your team
- What your team will see in the conversation view
Setting a Conversation Limit
Head to Settings > App Settings > Conversations > Advanced, or, click here.
From the "Limit Chats For Your Reps" setting, select a number of conversations for your team and flip the toggle to the blue enabled state.
Keep in mind that this is for your entire team, and not on an individual basis.
What Your Team Will See in the Conversation View
When this setting is enabled and your online teammates have reached their conversation limit, they'll see their avatar outlined in yellow and their availability toggled in yellow with an exclamation point (!), along with text informing them that they're at their limit.

Should they close/leave a conversation, they will see this return to the normal state, until they hit their limit again.

If all team members are currently at their chat limit, visitors will return to the routing queue and they will be directed to the first available agent once they are available based on your conversation routing settings. For further info on the conversation routing screen, check out our help doc here.