It's not uncommon to have the same playbook flow across several different playbooks. With Blocks you can now build out one playbook flow and apply it to as many playbooks as you like without having to rebuild the flow for each playbook.
Billing Plan:
Blocks v2 is available to customers on the FY22 Premium and Above Drift plans.
In this Article, we'll go over:
- Blocks if: You have a set of questions that you're using in two or more playbooks, and want to keep those sets of questions consistent across all playbooks.
- Clone your playbook if: You have a complex path already built in one of your playbooks and you are looking to tweak the targeting / a few specific paths and:
- It's not important to keep a series of questions consistent across multiple playbooks
- Your are looking to use Conversation Flow reporting
While you can clone a whole Playbook, you also have the option to clone bot Playbooks and create a Reusable Block out of it. Navigate to
Playbooks > Chat Playbooks and find the bot Playbook you would like to make a Reusable Block out of. Click the three dots on the right side of the screen and select
Clone as reusable block. Please note the following limitations while cloning Playbooks as Reusable Blocks:
- You can only clone bot type Playbooks
- You can not make AI Playbooks into Reusable Blocks
- You can not clone a Playbook into a Reusable Block if the Playbook already contains a Reusable Block
To access blocks simply click the
Playbooks tab >
Blocks
You can also access Blocks directly from the playbook builder by clicking "
Blocks".
From the Blocks landing page click
"Create block" or "
Create a new block" if you are in the playbook builder.


Here is where you will build out your new Block. Click and drag the playbook nodes from the left side of the screen to build out your flow.
When using Blocks, the Conversation Flow report will end at the node before the block. When blocks are used, we cannot display where drop-offs occur. Be sure to click
Save when you're done! If the block is currently being used in multiple playbooks you will be asked to confirm how many live playbooks the change will apply to. For instance if you have a block being used in five playbooks and three of them are live, you will be asked to input the number "3" to confirm you would like the changes to take affect in the three live playbooks.
Hover over a custom block and click the
trash can icon to delete the block. If the block is currently being used in a playbook you will need to remove the block from the playbook before you are able to delete it.
