The Full Screen Takeover playbook is like a pre-packaged campaign template for your team to use to nurture repeat visitors and qualify leads and ultimately, close those deals!
In this article, we'll cover:
- Navigating to Playbooks
- Setting Up your Playbook
- Enable Your Playbook
Navigating to Playbooks
In your Drift Dashboard, look for a tab called "Playbooks". Click "New Playbook" in the top right hand corner to begin!
This article talks specifically about Chat Playbooks, and within that grouping, "Full Screen Takeover" Playbooks. These are available on the Premium plan and above.
Set Up Your Playbook
Let’s take this step-by-step:
The first thing you’re going to want to set up when you create your Playbook is the message that is shown to your users! We always pre-fill the fields to give you an example of a message you can send to your customers, but you can always personalize the message to tailor to your company!

You'll be able to preview your playbook before you send it out to make sure it looks just right.

Goals:
Goals are used to qualify or disqualify people who interact with this campaign! That way your team can focus only on the best leads.
You can have your kick in at the end of a conversation, have the the conversation route to one person on your team, or have the conversation go unrouted.
Routing Rule Tips:
- You should have your routing rules kick in if you have multiple members of your sales team in your Drift account.
- If it is just you and one other person on your team and you are receiving notifications for all conversations, you can have the conversation not route to anyone and still be notified!
- If it’s just you using your Drift account, or you’re in charge of answering questions on a certain topic, you should have the the conversation route to just one person.
The Lead Stages assigned to users who reach a goal are defined by tags. You can have them set to anything you like! From “Qualified Lead” to “Bad Lead” to “Wants a demo”! You will be able to see these Lead Stages as a tag on a customer's profile, we assign those automatically.

Targeting
Under Targeting you’ll see is Audience - Everyone. Here you can set your preference of which users will see your playbook. You can choose from “All Visitors," “Known Visitors Only,” “Anonymous Visitors Only,” or you can choose a custom segment of users in your contacts.

Your third option, "Exclusion," can be used to exclude a certain segment or segments from seeing this playbook. This option is perfect for making sure your message gets to exactly the right people.
Lastly, you can choose any of your existing , you can create a new condition, or you have have your playbook be displayed “Always”.
You can also edit your targeting conditions, add to them, or add a new condition set to the Playbook:

Frequency:
Set your Playbooks frequency to have your Playbook deliver to your audience once, on every session, or on every page load!

Enable your Playbook
Once you’re ready for your Playbook to go live you can turn it on!
