How to Block Users
In order to block a user from chatting in simply type /block into the composer and hit enter.
This can have unintended repercussions, for example you may block a former teammate by public IP and block everyone in your organization because you are seen as having the same IP address externally. However, you can unblock anyone by typing /unblock into the composer bar and hitting enter.
What Blocking A User Means For You
Great, now they're blocked, but what does this really mean for your experience and theirs?
The "Blocked" User Tag
Once you block a user a customer tag will be added automatically to the user labeled [Blocked] so you can create a filter of everyone who you blocked. You should also be able to view it from within your Inbox and Conversations view as a Tag.
Messages Won't Send
As soon as a user is blocked, they will no longer be able to send you messages through Drift. However, they will still see the Drift widget, but if they try to send a message, it will not go through. Instead it will appear to always be "Sending..."
Please note that blocked users will not usually realize they are blocked because they can still see the Drift Widget and Playbooks. They won't be able to successfully send messages either.
If you would like to hide all playbooks or the widget from appearing at all, then you can add the IP as a display condition for the widget or playbook in Targeting.
It's also important to note that some regions of the world have a limited number of IP addresses, so blocking one IP address can block more than the one intended.