For GDPR compliance, end-users may need to give consent for Drift to save their information.
Billing Plan: Data Privacy Consent and Management is available on all Drift plans.
In this article, we'll cover:
- How to Proactively Ask Users for Consent
- Who Will We Show a Consent Form To?
- What Countries Does Drift consider to be in the EU?
- How to Create a Consent Form
- Managing Data
How to proactively ask users for consent
1. Create a consent form, as outlined below in the article.
2. This consent form will appear users who's "has_consent" attribute is empty.
3. Email users with a link to any driftlink playbook. The form will automatically show and ask for consent from the user.
Who will we show a consent form to, and what form will display?
Essentially, we'll use a visitor's IP address to determine their location. And if that matches a country you've set to show a consent form to, we'll display it.
We'll also look at the visitor's browser language to decide which of your consent forms to show. If you don't have a consent form to match, we'll display your default consent form. Read on further for more details below.
List of countries Drift Considers as in the EU
- Austria
- Belgium
- Bulgaria
- Croatia
- Cyprus
- Czechia
- Denmark
- Estonia
- Finland
- France
- Germany
- Great Britain
- Greece
- Hungary
- Iceland
- Ireland
- Italy
- Latvia
- Liechtenstein
- Lithuania
- Luxembourg
- Malta
- Netherlands
- Norway
- Poland
- Portugal
- Romania
- Slovakia
- Slovenia
- Spain
- Sweden
Here's how to create a consent form
Start by going to Settings > Data Privacy.

Note: If you are on a legacy Drift plan you will not see the "Active" flag listed next to your consent form. The flag is only shown on FY22 Drift plans.
If we click Create Form, this is where we'll land:


Note: The character limit size for the privacy policy text can vary. The text will start cutting off after a third line of text. To ensure your message does not get cut off, keep the message to less than 120 characters.
Note: If you include a link to a privacy policy please be aware that any link longer than 30-35 characters will be cut off in the widget.
We use cookies to recognize users when they opt in or out.
You can also customize messaging after the user opts out.

What the end-user sees
If you have multiple forms setup for different languages, the end-user will see the one matching their browser language (if any exist) and the default otherwise. To change your default consent message, simply click the star button on the consent form that you'd like to change to default.

If the user interacts with Drift for the first time through the widget, this is what they'll see:

If the user interacts with Drift for the first time via email, this is what they'll see:

How do I know which customers have given consent?
Whenever a customer consents via Chat or Email, we’ll set the "has_consent" attribute to true on their contact record. Drift uses this attribute to determine whether returning customers should be prompted for consent. If you change the Drift Attribute to which consent is associated, customers who previously consented may be prompted for consent again unless this attribute is true on their contact record.
You may track which customers have consented by creating a Dynamic Segment based on the Drift Attribute associated with consent.
Collecting consent outside of Drift?
If you're collecting consent from your customers outside of Drift and wish to prevent Drift from prompting them for consent, you may do so using the Contact API.
Managing Data
Admins in Drift have the ability to retrieve or delete end-user data as well as the ability to get notifications if an end user requests that their data be deleted. You can do this in Settings > Data Privacy. You can also do this using our API.
