Drift collects a lot of data on your site visitors to help make sure you get in touch with the most qualified leads. But what do we do with all of that data after your leads land in Drift? In this article we'll cover some common questions regarding how Drift handles end user data.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does Drift retain data generated from conversations?
Drift does not expire central information such as contact names, attributes, and events. Non-expiring data will be removed upon contract termination or explicit request (per GDPR compliance).
Are customers able to set up a time table for recurring data deletion within Drift?
While Drift does not offer data deletion as a service, we do support and maintain endpoints related to Data Privacy found here. Deletion can also be handled manually in the Data Privacy section of the application.
Can I bulk delete Contacts from Drift?
Unfortunately bulk deletion isn't available via our API, and we only offer bulk deletion as a service for terminated accounts at the moment. We've seen customers accomplish this task by extracting all "expired" email addresses from their consent management system and using the GDPR Deletion endpoint to delete contacts from Drift.
With this endpoint, customers can reach out to Drift programmatically to delete any record and all associated data of that record, simply by email address.
If your goal is merely to remove a contact from your instance of Drift, you can do so using our Remove Contact endpoint. This option does not conduct a fully GDPR compliant data deletion and is for record hygiene within the Drift application specifically.
Where can I learn more about Drift’s privacy, compliance, and security features?
Privacy Policy and stored data:
https://www.salesloft.com/legal/privacy-policies
GDPR Compliance:
https://www.salesloft.com/legal/gdpr-overview
Cookie security:
https://help.salesloft.com/s/article/Drift-s-Cookie-Security-and-Privacy-Policy