Automated Rep Availability ensures that your rep's availability is always accurate without a manual effort. With automatic updates based on your log-in and log-out, and internet connection status, your team can improve routing accuracy and reduce missed chats.
Billing Plan:
The status toggle is available on all Drift plans.
In this Article, we'll cover:
- What is Agent Availability?
- Automated Availability
- Status Types
What is Agent Availability?
Your Agent Status is your personal availability. The purpose of this status is to handle how to notify and assign agents to conversations. Your status can be Available or Away.
From any page in Drift, you can now click on your avatar in the bottom left corner of the page to set your status.

In this alternate view of conversations, you can set the time that you're away. To do this, simply select the appropriate away time using the appropriate radio button.

Setting yourself away "Until tomorrow" will set you away until 9 AM the follow day, at that point your status will change to available again. The time used to determine this is based off of your computer clock.
Note: Availability is not the same as being active in Drift. Your availability determines whether or not you are able to receive a chat while activity is determined by when you last used Drift. For example, you could log into Drift, set yourself as available and log out and not use Drift for 30 days. In this case, the Availability Report would show you as being available for the past 30 days while the Manage Teammates page would say you were last active 30 days since that is the last time you logged into Drift.
Automated Availability
Automated Availability is available for the Premium, Advanced, and Enterprise plans.
With Automated Availability you will see your status automatically update as you log in and out of Drift. When you log in, your status should change to Available and when you log out it should change to Away. This works for both the web browser version of Drift and the desktop app version of Drift. Automated Availability functions as a safety fallback for users who forget to update their Drift status. Users should still establish a habit of manually toggling themselves to active/away.
Automated Availability will also set you as Away if you:
- Close the Drift tab in your web browser
- Quit or close your desktop app
- Your status says available, but you aren't logged on or connected to Drift.
- Your computer falls asleep
- Close your laptop
- Your computer shuts down
- Lose internet connection
Automated Availability will automatically move a user to active if their status was previously set to away by Automated Availability and the user is logged on or connected to Drift.
Automated Availability will never set a user to active if the user manually toggled their status to away.
When a user availability is changed by automatic availability, it will show as being changed "By SYSTEM. Reason: Automated availability rule".

To enable Automated Availability, navigate to Settings > Conversations > Advanced and click the toggle. Clicking on Manage Teams will allow you to enable Automated Availability for specific teams instead of your whole Drift organization. You can see in the Activity Log if a user has had their status changed by Automated Availability. It will show as having their status changed "by SYSTEM".
Note: This feature will only apply to the members on the teams you have selected. If a Drift user is not on one a team you have selected then this setting will not apply to them.

Status Types
Here are the status types and what they mean:
Available
- You will get the normal notifications that you have turned on in your notification settings.
- New conversations will be assigned to you.
Away
- You won’t be added to any conversations when you’re “Away”.
Pro Tip: At Drift, our support team works in shifts. When one person starts their shift, they turn their status to Available, and the agent whose shift is over turns their status to Away, adjusting routing accordingly.
Make sure if you are leaving your computer or going to be away from Drift that you set yourself as "Away" so you are not routed in to any conversations while you're gone.